Rice University

Department of English

Graduate Award History 

Shirley Bard Rapoport Essay Prize

This essay prize is awarded every year for the best essay by a graduate student in the English Department. Morris Rapoport established this endowed prize as a memorial to honor his beloved wife and lifetime partner, Shirley Bard Rapoport, and her love of writing and literature.

Joanna Fax for her essay, "The Deregulated Lesbian: Affective Labor in Postwar Pulp," 2016

Michael Miller for his essay, “Narrative Embedding in Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein: Internally-Constructed External Frames and Emergent Narrative,” 2015

Sophia Hsu for her essay, "Domestic Governmentality: Family, Italy, and the Biopolitical State in The Woman in White," 2014


Margaret C. Ostrum Summer Research Grant

 Sydney Boyd and Lindsey Chappell

Caroline S. and David L. Minter Summer Research Grants

Rachel Bracken


Chair’s Best Dissertation Prize

This award is given out each year by the Department Chair to the best dissertation completed in that same year as determined by a committee of English faculty.

Jennifer Hargrave for her dissertation, " The Romantic Reinvention of Imperial China, 1759-1857" 2016. Director: Alexander Regier.

AnaMaria Seglie, for her dissertation “Sacred Dominion: Anti-Catholicism and the Romance of U.S. Imperialism, 1820-1900” 2015. Director: Professor Caroline Levander

Joanna O'Leary, “The ‘Terror of the Tiny’: Contagion and the Transformation of Nineteenth-Century Literature" 2014. Director: Helena Michie


Lodieska Stockbridge Vaughn Fellowship

This award provides a one year fellowship for a graduate student whose record at Rice shows evidence of outstanding achievement and promise. Up to three awards may be given in the Humanities each year.

Jennifer Hargrave
Received award for academic year 2016-2017

Samhita Sunya
Received award for academic year 2013-2014 

Michael Griffiths
Received award for academic year 2011-2012

Click here to download the full Rice English Honors and Awards Program from 2016

Click here to download the Honors and Awards program from 2015

Click here to download the Honors and Awards program from 2014