Creative Writing Awards

Rice University is home to several prestigious prizes for undergraduate creative writing. Details and related links are listed below.

Inprint Marion Barthelme Prize in Creative Writing

The university’s largest writing award, this $5,000 prize is given to a graduating senior who has completed coursework in creative writing. Each year’s winning writer is invited to be recognized at Houston’s annual Inprint Gala. More information, including application guidelines, can be found here.

The Paul Otremba Award for Literary Citizenship

The Paul Otremba Award for Literary Citizenship is given in memory of the beloved teacher and poet, Paul Otremba. The award celebrates an outstanding graduating senior who embodies Paul’s spirit of literary service, engagement, and activism.

George G. Williams Awards

R2: The Rice Review is a student-run literary journal at Rice University committed to publishing the best prose, poetry, and creative nonfiction. Each year, R2 awards the George G. Williams prizes in the genres of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The contests are juried by professional, non-Rice-affiliated judges. Each of the student recipients is awarded a monetary prize as well as recognition in that year's issue.

Fondren Library's Undergraduate Creative Writing Awards

Each spring, Fondren Library accepts entries for their annual Undergraduate Creative Writing Awards. These three $1,000 prizes honor Rice undergraduates who show exceptional literary promise in the genres of Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry. The awards are: the Larry McMurtry Prize in Fiction, the Max Apple Prize in Nonfiction, and the Susan Wood Prize in Poetry. More information about the contest, as well as contest entry forms can be found here.